Festival news: Rumours kickstarted comeback, singer Hawkins admits, as Donington adds acts including Skunk Anansie and Funeral for a Friend

The Darkness

Back for more: the Darkness

The Darkness will return with their original lineup for this year’s Download festival at Donington Park on June 10-12.

And Justin Hawkins admits their comeback was kickstarted by tabloid rumours which surfaced last year.

The singer tells Kerrang: “We heard the rumours we were coming back and realised individually and collectively that it wasn’t such a bad idea.

“But the idea of playing Download terrifies us. We played an early slot on the main stage in 2003 and we were frightened then. It’s reassuring to know nothing has changed.”

The Darkness split in 2006 and Hawkins went on to form Hot Leg while the rest of the band became Stone Gods, who split last year. But it’s the first time the original lineup of Hawkins, brother Dan, drummer Ed Graham and bassist Frankie Poullain will have played together since 2005.

They’ll appear as second headliners under Def Leppard on Friday June 10.

Meanwhile, Skunk Anansie, Funeral for a Friend, Plain White Ts, Kvelertak, Framing Hanley, Hydro Da Hero and the Blackout have also been added to the festival bill.

Download, UK, June 10-12

Alice Cooper
Alter Bridge
Avenged Sevenfold
Black Veil Brides
The Blackout
Bullet For My Valentine
The Cult
The Damned Things
The Darkness
Def Leppard
Duff McKagan’s Loaded
Escape The Fate
Funeral for a Friend
Framing Hanley
The Gaslight Anthem
Hollywood Undead
Hydro Da Hero
Linkin Park
Masters of Reality
Mr Big
Plain White Ts
Rise to Remain
Rob Zombie
Skunk Anansie
System of a Down
Thin Lizzy
Trash Talk
Twisted Sister

Related stories: