BLS drummer out, Daltrey’s spot decision over Foos, Golden Gods nominees, latest from Anthrax, Queenryche, Kinks, Warrant and Uriah Heep


Killing it: Anthrax

Black Label Society drummer Will Hunt has left the band with immediate effect. He’ll be replaced by Johnny Kelly of Type O Negative and Danzig fame in Paris tomorrow night, and for the rest of the band’s European tour. A statement says: “Will Hunt is no longer with BLS, and replacing him is Johnny Kelly. Additional information will be announced soon.”

Roger Daltrey says his guest appearance with the Foo Fighters at the NME Awards in London this week was a spur-of-the-moment decision. The Who singer explains: “They play Young Man Blues in their show sometimes and Dave Grohl asked me, ‘Would you sing it?’ That’s what rock’n'roll used to be like – people used to just get up and make it up on the spot. That’s what we did. I hope we didn’t show ourselves up too much.”

Anthrax singer Joey Belladonna reports the band have completed three songs for their next album, saying: “It’s all sounding great and everyone loves it. I’m killing it!”

Kinks star Ray Davies says he’s still suffering from the effects of a gunshot wound he received in his leg in 2004 while he was tackling a bagsnatcher in New Orleans. He explains: “I got quite sick before Christmas from residue that’s still in the leg. I don’t think the injury was handled well at the time – the hospital was busy and it was a zigzag bullet wound.”

Warrant‘s new album is tentatively titled Rockaholic and should be released in May, featuring new vocalist Robert Mason, formerly of Lynch Mob. Meanwhile, former singer Jani Lane has cancelled his upcoming solo US tour without offering a reason. A spokesman says: “I do not wish to elaborate, but I do ask for your prayers and thought to be with Jani and his family.”

Queensryche singer Geoff Tate says the band are continuing with the tradition of calling their current recording project “Bob” until they come up with a real title. He explains: “Our very first demo was recorded on cassette tape by a guy named Bob. To this day we put all our demos in the original case labelled ‘Bob’ until we actually have a title.”

The nominees for this year’s Revolver Golden Gods awards have been revealed.

  • Epiphone Best Guitarist: John 5 (Rob Zombie); Dan Donegan (Disturbed); Gus G (Ozzy Osbourne); Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance (Avenged Sevenfold); Janick Gers, Dave Murray and Adrian Smith (Iron Maiden); Alexi Laiho (Children of Bodom)
  • Drum Workshop Best Drummer: Tommy Clufetos (Ozzy Osbourne); Abe Cunningham (Deftones); Joey Jordison (Rob Zombie); Roy Mayorga (Stone Sour); Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden); Mike Portnoy
  • Best Vocalist: Glenn Danzig; Bruce Dickinson (Iron Maiden); Chino Moreno (Deftones); M Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold); Corey Taylor (Stone Sour)
  • Affliction Album of the Year: Nightmare (Avenged Sevenfold); Order of the Black (Black Label Society); Diamond Eyes (Deftones); Scream (Ozzy Osbourne); Audio Secrecy (Stone Sour); Beyond Hell / Above Heaven (Volbeat)
  • Samson Zoom Best Live Band: Avenged Sevenfold; Gwar; Iron Maiden; Megadeth; Rammstein; Sevendust
  • Best New Band: Asking Alexandria; Black Veil Brides; Damned Things; Pretty Reckless; Times of Grace; We Are the Fallen
  • Eagle Rock Comeback of the Year: Accept; Faith No More; Murderdolls; A Perfect Circle; Soundgarden; System of a Down

Uriah Heep‘s new album Into the Wild will be released on April 15 in Europe and May 3 in North America. Tracklist: Nail on the Head, I Can See You, Into the Wild, Money Talk, Trail of Diamonds, Lost, Believe, Southern Star, I’m Ready, T-bird Angel, Kiss of Freedom.

Related stories: