One click, nine stories: Alice’s new lineup, Motorhead Day in Texas, Slash album date plus BFMV, Yngwie, Rush and more

Alice Cooper

New lineup: Alice Cooper

Alice Cooper has revealed his band’s new lineup, which, contrary to recent rumours, isn’t a reunion of the original outfit’s surviving members. Guitarist Keri Kelli is replaced by Tommy Henriksen, who’s joined by former band member Steve Hunter while Damon Johnson remains, meaning there are three axemen in the touring act. Drummer Glen Sobel replaces Jimme DeGrasso and bassist Chuck Garric remains. Cooper says: “We will miss Jimmy and Kerri, but I know we’ll share a stage again in the future. Steve’s always been one of my favourite guitarists and I’ve been working with Tommy a lot on the new album. And a new snake might make the lineup – you never know.”

Today is officially Motorhead Day in the city of Austin, Texas. Mayor Lee Leffingwell has released a proclamation which states: “Be it know that, whereas, the Live Music Capital of the World welcomes the band Motorhead to our City for one of the many stops on its US Tour; and, whereas, Motorhead recently celebrated its 35th anniversary of making music that has received worldwide recognition; and, whereas, Motorhead’s current tour coincides with the release of its latest album The World is Yours; and, whereas, we extend best wishes for a great show in Austin and continues success for the band; now, therefore, I, Lee Leffingwell, Mayor of the Live Music Capital of the World, do hereby proclaim March 8, 2011, as Motorhead Day in Austin.”

Slash is aiming to deliver his second solo album at the end of this year, and he’s confirmed it will be recorded by the current lineup of his band, fronted by Alter Bridge singer Myles Kennedy. The guitars says: “We’re just writing individually then we compile everything, and at some point in December we’ll have everything together.”

In Flames have added touring guitarist Niclas Engelin to their full-time lineup. He started working with them last year following Jesper Stromblad’s retirement to deal with his alcoholism. The band’s new album Sounds of Playground Fading is due out in May.

Bullet for my Valentine are planning to work with producer Don Gilmore again for their next album. Frontman Matt Tuck says: “I’m going to go to LA for a month and start writing with Don. He worked on our last album, Fever. I’ll just see how it goes – no pressure, no game plan.”

Yngwie Malmsteen could appear on a new Swedish banknote if the nation’s Riksbank forges ahead with current plans. A spokesperson says: “We want to upgrade security but also make our notes a bit more modern.” A decision will be made later this month.

Children of Bodom frontman Alexi Laiho says it’s a happy accident that so many of their albums, including new release Relentless Reckless Forever, runs to nine songs and under 40 minutes. “I didn’t mean it, but that just seems to be our thing,” he explains. “But there’s so much information within the 37 minutes that if you had ten more minutes it would be too much.”

Shinedown guitarist Zach Myers won’t be playing the band’s big hits during his first solo tour. He says: “I can’t sing like Brent Smith – I can’t do our songs justice, so I’ll do a couple, but just the ones that are my personal favourites.”

The deluxe edition of classic Rush album Moving Pictures will be available on April 5 in two formats: a CD and DVD pack and a CD and blu-ray pack. Each includes the original 1981 album plus three bonus videos in 5.1 surround sound and remastered stereo, alongside new liner notes, artwork and photo gallery.

Related stories: